Indian Squad for the WI Tour

imageThe Indian squad for the Caribbean tour has been announced. Fatigue and injuries playing a big role in the selection is very evident, while, individual performances in IPL also get due recognition.

In or Out?

Let us have a look who gets in and who gets out comparing it with the WT20 squad:

In Out Stays out
M Vijay Zaheer Khan Sachin Tendulkar
S Badrinath Suresh Raina Virender Sehwag
Abhishek Nayar Irfan Pathan Munaf Patel
Ashish Nehra

If we compare it with the ODI squad that toured New Zealand earlier this year, then Ashish Nehra, Abhishek Nayar, RP Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, S Badrinath and M Vijay get the place into the side.

Selected or Dropped?

Let us try to see why few of the players were selected or dropped?


  • M Vijay: His performance in Ranji trophy gets him in to the squad. Moreover, he is an opener, so he could release Rohit from the extra responsibility and allow him to strengthen the middle over.
  • S Badrinath: He had a good Ranji season and gets a well deserved selection.
  • Abhishek Nayar: All round performance during Ranji and IPL this season helps him get into the 16-member squad.
  • Ravindra Jadeja: Selectors continue with their faith, after WT20, on this young boy with a promising future.
  • Ashish Nehra: Comes back to the side after 4 years. His performance in IPL and past international experience gets him the ticket.
  • RP Singh: The highest wicket taker in the IPL makes a comeback riding on his success during the league.


  • Sachin Tendulkar: Opted to rest due to the finger injury that he got during the IPL.
  • Virender Sehwag: Continues his medical leave because of the shoulder injury.
  • Suresh Raina: He needs time to get over with the hairline fracture in his thumb.
  • Irfan Pathan: He was not selected for the final two matches in the WT20 and could not find a place for himself in the squad. He was part of the successful team that went to New Zealand.
  • Munaf Patel: He was part of the team to New Zealand, but did not have a good show during the tour. Though he had a good show during the IPL, while bowling for RR, but still could not impress the selectors.
  • Zaheer Khan: Rested because of the shoulder injury he earlier had.

The 16 Member Squad

  1. MS Dhoni (Captain)
  2. Yuvraj Singh (Vice Captain)
  3. Gautam Gambhir
  4. Rohit Sharma
  5. Yusuf Pathan
  6. Ravindra Jadeja
  7. Harbhajan Singh
  8. Pragyan Ojha
  9. RP Singh
  10. Praveen Kumar
  11. Ishant Sharma
  12. Dinesh Karthik
  13. S Badrinath
  14. Abhishek Nayar
  15. Ashish Nehra
  16. M Vijay