Champions League to be held in October and this time with 12 teams!

clip_image002The Champions League Twenty20 tournament has expanded the participation window from 8 to 12 teams now. The additional teams will be the domestic champions from West Indies, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. India will now have the participation from the top 3 teams of the IPL.

Last year the first Champions League had been scheduled to feature two teams each from India, Australia, South Africa and England. However, it was later postponed after the terror attacks in Mumbai.

The $6 million prize money tournament will now be held from October 8 – October 23 in India.

  1. All 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three each to play on a league basis.
  2. The top two teams from each group will move on to the second stage.
  3. The four top teams from the second stage will play the Semifinals.

From India, the league topper Delhi Daredevils will participate along with the two finalists of IPL-2.

The teams for the Champions League include:




1 Victoria Australia
2 New South Wales Australia
3 Cape Corbas South Africa
4 Eagles South Africa
5 Otago New Zealand
6 Trinidad and Tobago West Indies
7 Wayamba Sri Lanka
8 Deccan Chargers India
9 Royal Challengers India
10 Delhi Daredevils India
11 To be decided England
12 To be decided England

The two English teams will be decided after the domestic Twenty20 championship in August.